top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePassinSourAround TV

Jerry Saltz - Vulture

Updated: Jan 28, 2020

After reading this amazing article on Vulture, I realized that we (artist) have a lot more in common than we think. Jerry Saltz listed his 33 rules that'll take you from a amateur to general talent. Starting at rule 1, Jerry tells its okay to be embarrassed. Growing up i was always my worst critic. I always saw all the small imperfections in my work, those small imperfections always lead to overthinking. Once i start over thinking, I start to think that it's not good enough. Saltz explains in rule 7 to develop forms of practice. The more I practiced, the more comfortable i became. Practice brings confidence, and that leaves no room for the naysayers. One rule that stuck out to me the most is rule 23: learn to write. A great conversation or well written letter can be art itself. I think its a gift to know how to piece words together in the right way. My issue is sometimes I don't write how I talk and vice versa. Jerry Saltz say don't make a big deal and just write ! Write in your own voice. Most artist are misunderstood, and its okay. Basquiat, Warhol, Freida Kahlo is a few familiar artist that Saltz mentioned in this article, they all were misunderstood but different in their own ways. the learned to tell their own story and found their own voice (rule 2 and 10). So in a nutshell the overall message is to practice, be fearless, find your voice, and don't over think!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page